Student Employee of the Year (SEOTY)

Each spring, the National Student Employment Association (NSEA) coordinates a National Student Employee of the Year program to recognize the outstanding contributions and achievements of students who work while attending college.

The process begins at the institutional level. Supervisors may nominate an outstanding employee for their institutions student employee of the year. Then, any institution who is a member of MASEA and/or NSEA may submit their student employee of the year for State, Regional and National consideration. *Must be a NSEA member to advance to the Regional and National level in the competition. If you or your institution are not currently a member of NSEA, you must have an active NSEA membership to advance beyond the state level by the time you submit your campus winner for the State competition.

To check your current MASEA membership status visit the following link:

2019 MASEA Student Employee of the Year
Julianne Evans, University of Dayton, Ohio

MASEA State Winners:

Illinois - Hannah Colbrook, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Indiana - Jonah Gjertson, IUPUI
Iowa - Thomas Polzin, Iowa State University
Kansas - Po-Yu 'Tony' Lai, Kansas State University
Kentucky - Zach Tackett, University of Pikeville
Michigan - Tiaha Johnson, Michigan State University
Minnesota - Ruotong Wang, Macalester College
Missouri - Bailey Martin, Missouri State University
Nebraska - Cy Cannon, University of Nebraska Kearney
North Dakota - Amy Breigenzer, University of North Dakota
*+Ohio - Julianne Evans, University of Dayton
South Dakota - Michael Stydel, Dakota State University
West Virginia - Morgan Goff, West Virginia University
Wisconsin - Christopher Duncan, Marquette University

Student Employee of the Year

Eligible Students:
All students employees at institutions with at least one member of MASEA and/or NSEA. Students must have been employed for a minimum of six months part-time or three months full-time between June 1, 2018 to May 31, 2019 (anticipated).

Selection Criteria
Students will be evaluated on the following characteristics:

  1. Reliability
  2. Quality of Work
  3. Initiative
  4. Professionalism
  5. Uniqueness of Contribution


  • December 1, 2018 - Regional Coordinators distribute announcement and application materials to their members and NSEA members in their region.
  • February 17, 2019 - SEOTY nominations are due to the campus Student Employment office.
  • March 1, 2019 - Notifications of campus winners are due to the Regional SEOTY Coordinators.
  • March 22, 2019 - Regional SEOTY Coordinators submit the regional winners to the NSEA VP of Administrative Services.
  • March 27 - March 31, 2019 - National Student Employee of the Year is selected and winner's school is notified by the NSEA President.
  • April 14 - April 20, 2019 - National Student Employment Week observed. National SEOTY winner announced and runner-up finalists notified. National SEOTY award is presented at winner's campus.


  • State winners will receive a certificate and check for $75.00
  • The MASEA regional winner will receive a plaque and a check for $150.00
  • The MASEA winner will be submitted for the NSEA Student Employee of the Year Program.


  • SEOTY Campus Nomination Form (to be completed by nominator at your institution or collected in an alternate/electronic format by institution/student employment office).
    The SEOTY Campus Nomination Form, with revised writing prompts for 2016, maintains the traditional SEOTY judging criteria. The revised writing prompts ask nominators to write about the attributes, expectations, leadership/style, and impact of the student through providing examples in order to more clearly address the judging criteria. Separate supporting documents, such as a formal letter of nomination allowed in previous years, are not able to be submitted this year.
  • SEOTY Campus Selection Form (to be completed by institution/student employment office)

In order for your institution's student employee of the year to be considered for state, regional, and national Student Employee of the Year, you need to submit the Campus Nomination Form and Campus Selection Form for your campus winner to Josh Vail (

For more information, please contact Josh Vail, MASEA Secretary,

Student Employee of the Year (SEOTY) Implementation Guidance

The nominating process is easy! To help you with the process we have some suggested steps listed below:

  1. Send the SEOTY and SESOTY information, corresponding forms (or alternate/electronic forms with the same fields, if you choose to do so), and a memo explaining the award and nomination process to your campus supervisors for SEOTY nominations and your student employees for SESOTY. Establish a campus deadline date for submissions that allows your selection committee time to determine and submit your campus winners to MASEA.
  2. Many institutions create an online "survey" or "form" to collect the same information asked on the Campus Nomination Form as part of their process, which is acceptable. A complete Campus Nomination Form will be needed by MASEA only for your campus winner.
  3. Collect all nominations by the deadline date and request a "call for readers" on your campus. Readers will simply read and review all nominations and complete a SEOTY or SESOTY (depending on the category) rating system for each candidate. Be sure to determine a deadline for completion of all ratings to allow time to submit your campus winners to MASEA. See this example rating system, which can be used by your campus readers.
  4. Collect the rating forms and calculate all scores. Select your SEOTY and SESOTY based on the top scores.
  5. Complete the SEOTY Campus Selection Form along with the SEOTY Campus Nomination Form and send to MASEA by email to Josh Vail

Member Services | About MASEA | Leadership | Newsletters
Listserv | Conferences | Training | Resources | Website Help | Privacy/Terms | Home
Copyright © 2014-2019 MASEA -- Copying or distributing contents expressly forbidden. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.